the latest regional New Jersey high school sports news

Feature Articles
Page 2
Video Feed
The Buzz
Contact Us


Alex Ebel, a first-team All-McInnis Division all-star and MVP, sparked Westfield to South, Public state sectional final in NJSIAA state tourney after having outstanding regular season. (photo courtesy of

Top Forwards Led Way
Among NJIIHL All-Stars

By Steve Tober

There were outstanding performances turned in by the top forwards in the New Jersey Interscholastic Ice Hockey League which translated into many of those high-scoring standouts being featured on the 2023-2024 NJIIHL All-Division all-star teams.

High-scoring senior forward Sam Rotella of Montclair was voted by the coaches as the McInnis Division’s top player while Bobby Hansen of Millburn was selected as the McMullen Division’s most valuable player.

In the McInnis Division, which is the NJIIHL’s second-strongest division, just below the powerful Gordon Conference, there was another of the league’s superb forwards in Westfield’s division MVP Alex Ebel (11 goals, 19 assists), who led the Blue Devils to the NJSIAA state tournament South, Public state sectional final.

While there are a number of top forwards in the power-laden Gordon Conference, including Seton Hall Prep’s second-team, all-Gordon selection Nicholas Schneider, the Gordon’s MVP was Don Bosco Prep’s stellar defenseman Kenny Kalman.

Among the other veteran forwards from Essex County joining SHP’s Schneider in producing a superb season were All-NJIIHL selections such as seniors Pyotr Sysak of Verona-Glen Ridge, Luca Infusino of West Essex and junior Dominic Locricchio of West Orange, who are represented on the All-Kelly, All-McInnis and All-McMullen first teams, respectively.

One of the top stories in the Essex County hockey season was been SHP in the Gordon Conference, National Division) as first-year head coach Brian Monteverdi  enjoyed a successful return to his high school alma mater while directing the Pirates to a highly-competitive showing in the NJIIHL’s top conference.

SHP had a strong showing in the Gordon Cup playoffs before falling to St. Augustine, 5-4, in overtime, in a hard-fought quarterfinal.  


MVP: Bobby Hansen, Millburn, Sr.
Sportsmanship winner: Hoboken-Weehawken

  • F: Aiden Stamm, Kearny-North Arlington-Secaucus, Jr.
  • F: Jagger Zemachson, Millburn, Fr.
  • F: Reid Tenzer, West Orange, Jr.
  • D: Kevin Zidiak, Kearny-North Arlington-Secaucus, Sr.
  • D: Dominic Locricchio, West Orange, Jr.
  • G: Sydney Fogu, Bayonne-Belleville


  • F: Chris Crawford, Kearny-North Arlington-Secaucus, Sr.
  • F: Alex Fiermonte, Bayonne-Belleville, So.
  • F: Akash Seth, Millburn, Sr.
  • D: Ari Kremmidas, Millburn, So.
  • D: Max Kagan, Hoboken-Weehawken, Sr.
  • G: Steven Garbowski, Johnson-Dayton-Roselle Park, Jr.


  • Ryan Villavert, Bayonne-Belleville, Fr.
  • Rohan Garg, Bayonne-Belleville, So.
  • Ian Fu, Kearny-North Arlington-Secaucus, Jr.
  • Arthur Bor, Kearny-North Arlington-Secaucus, So.
  • Sammy Zapotoka, Johnson-Dayton-Roselle Park, Fr.
  • Logan Paskewich, Johnson-Dayton-Roselle Park, Fr.
  • Mandy Scott, Millburn, Sr.
  • Timmy Hansen, Millburn, Fr.
  • Miles Angley, Hoboken-Weehawken, Jr.
  • Luke Batcha, Hoboken-Weehawken, Jr.
  • Christian Anderton, West Orange, Jr.
  • Anthony Pondillo, West Orange, Jr.

MVP: Samuel Rotella, Montclair, Sr.
Sportsmanship winner: Verona-Glen Ridge

  • F: Alex Benkert, Nutley-Columbia-Bloomfield, Jr.
  • F: Parker Dupuis, Glen Rock, Sr.
  • F: Pyotr Sysak, Verona-Glen Ridge, Sr.
  • D: Logan Brown, Montclair, Jr.
  • D: James Benson, Verona-Glen Ridge, So.
  • G: Sam Korenbaum, Montclair, Sr.


  • F: Mason Parisi, Glen Rock, Jr.
  • F: Jack MacEvoy, Verona-Glen Ridge, Sr.
  • F: Angelo Albanese, Nutley-Columbia-Bloomfield, So.
  • D: Jack O’Connor, Glen Rock, Sr.
  • D: Ryan Mauer, Scotch Plains-Fanwood, Jr.
  • G: Luke Brassil, Glen Rock, Jr.


  • Brennan Visokey, Glen Rock, Jr.
  • Brady Peck, Glen Rock, Sr.
  • Ryan Sacchetti, Scotch Plains-Fanwood, Jr.
  • Anthony Lorenzetti, Scotch Plains-Fanwood, Jr.
  • Gavin Parma, Montclair, Sr.
  • Hannah Rosenhick, Montclair, So.
  • Jackson Soshnick, Verona-Glen Ridge, Fr.
  • Jack Budinick, Verona-Glen Ridge, Jr.
  • Christian Sherman, Nutley-Columbia-Bloomfield, So.
  • Cameron Wrigth, Nutley-Columbia-Bloomfield, Jr.
  • Andrew Temo, Oratory, Sr.
  • Sutton Collings, Orartory, Sr.

MVP: Alex Ebel, Westfield, Sr.
Sportsmanship winner: Summit

  • F: Nathan Steel, Summit, Sr.
  • F: Brady Silverman, Gov. Livingston-New Providence, Sr.
  • F: Luca Infusino, West Essex-Caldwell, Sr.
  • D: Drew Goldfarb, Summit, Sr.
  • D: Michael Wilson, Westfield, Sr.
  • G: Scott Capan, Gov. Livingston-New Providence, Sr.


  • F: Jackson Benward, Gov. Livingston-New Providence, Sr.
  • F: Jack Staples, Summit, Sr.
  • F: Gary Hu, Montclair Kimberley, Sr.
  • D: Daniel Flaim, Summit, Sr.
  • D: Michael Marshall, Westfield, Sr.
  • G: Andrew Raber, Westfield, Sr.


  • Henry McCann, Montclair Kimberley, Jr.
  • Ayan Flowers, Montclair Kimberley, Jr.
  • Daltry Ferrigno, Gov. Livingston-New Providence, Sr.
  • Jeremy Siksnius, Gov. Livingston-New Providence, Sr.
  • Egor Tarasyuk, Livingston, Jr.
  • Ryan Zales, Livingston, Sr.
  • Jake Semcer, Summit, Sr.
  • Sam Wesson, Summit, Jr.
  • Jake D’Aquino, Cranford, Sr.
  • Ryan Callahan, Cranford, Jr.
  • Aidan Wilson, Westfield, Jr.
  • Jackson Chicola, Westfield, Jr.
  • Evan Zieminski, West Essex-Caldwell, Jr.
  • Connor Maniscalco, West Essex-Caldwell, Jr.

MVP: Kenny Kalman, Don Bosco Prep, Sr.
Sportsmanship winner: Gloucester Catholic

  • F: Max Pendy, Delbarton, Sr.
  • F: Sean Guinnessey, Christian Brothers, Sr.
  • F: Dean Toskos, Don Bosco Prep, Sr.
  • D: Han Shin, Princeton Day, Sr.
  • D: Troy Mulholland, Christian Brothers, Sr.
  • G: James Tarabocchia, Don Bosco Prep, Sr.


  • F: Nick Schneider, Seton Hall Prep, Sr.
  • F: Dominic Szczygiel, Christian Brothers, Jr.
  • F: Dante Rodriguez, Delbarton, Jr.
  • D: Hudson Rocheville, Seton Hall Prep, Sr.
  • D: Derek Fiore, Christian Brothers, Sr.
  • G: Bobby Kennedy, St. Augustine, Sr.


  • F: Matt Maglio, Bergen Catholic, Sr.
  • F: Matthew Hughes, Pope John, Sr.
  • F: Rob Romarino, St. Augustine, Sr.
  • D: Anthony Yeager, St. Augustine, Jr.
  • D: Kalib Capecci, St. Augustine, Jr.
  • G: Alessandro Capano, Bergen Catholic, Jr.


  • F: Declan Quinn, Bergen Catholic, Sr.
  • F: Alex Frassetto, Bergen Catholic, Sr.
  • F: Nicholas Desiderio, Christian Brothers, So.
  • D: RJ Sun, Christian Brothers, Sr.
  • D: Michael Pedula, Delbarton, Sr.
  • F: Liam Donnelly, Delbarton, So.
  • F: Matthew Bossolina, Don Bosco, Sr.
  • D: Luca Chiaese, Don Bosco, Sr.
  • F: TJ Pisano, Gloucester Catholic, Sr.
  • F: Robbie Myshkoff, Pope John, Sr.
  • D: Declan Murphy, Pope John, Sr.
  • D: Connor Stratton, Princeton Day, Sr.
  • F: Wyatt Ewanchyna, Princeton Day, Jr.
  • F: Christopher McIntyre, Seton Hall Prep, Sr.
  • F: Matt Smith, Seton Hall Prep, Jr.
  • F: Cam DeLeo, St. Augustine, So.
  • F: Ty Simonet, St. Augustine, Jr.
  • G: Gabe Florio, St. Joseph (Mont.), So.
  • F: Logan Hughes, St. Joseph (Mont.), Jr.
  • D: Thomas Apelizan, St. Peter’s Prep, Sr.
  • F: Brandon Larraga, St. Peter’s Prep, Jr.

Follow Steve Tober on 'X' (formerly Twitter) @Chattermeiser

West Essex-Caldwell's Luca Infusino (right) was a first-team all-star selection from the NJIIHL McInnis Division. (Photo by Steve Clayton)

Copyright 2005 Sideline Chatter - comments - contact the webmaster



< /TA